Committee Members
  Harkness Fellows
  Harkness Video
  Contact Us

Harkness Fellows Association



Committee Members

Timothy Hornsby, Chairman

Timothy Hornsby is currently the  Chair of the Harkness Fellows Association, and Chair of the International Tree Foundation. He is a Trustee of the British Architectural Trust Board, a Trustee of Field Lane charity, and a Board Member of the Audience Agency.

In his previous career he occupied the Chief Executive posts at the National Lottery Charities Board (now the Big Lottery Fund), the Royal Borough of Kingston, and the Nature Conservancy Council, after a career in academic life and subsequently in the higher Civil service.


Lesley Brown, Deputy Chair

Lesley Brown specialises in international coroporate finance, mergers and aquisitions and corporate strategy. She has advised companies in Europe and the USA ranging from multinationals to start ups, across a broad range of business sectors.  She is currently Managing Director of her own corporate finance boutique in London.  She has previously worked with leading investment banks Lazard Brothers and Robert Fleming (now part of J P Morgan) as well as with the Boston Consulting Group.

She holds degrees from Stanford University, California (MBA), Cambridge University (PhD Chemistry) and Edinburgh University (BSc (Hons) Chemistry).


Colin Blakemore

Professor Colin Blakemore is Waynflete Professor of Physiology at the University of Oxford (currently on secondment).  From October 2003, he became the Chief Executive of the Medical Research Council.  He studied medical sciences at Cambridge and completed his PhD at Berkeley, California.  He holds Doctor of Science degrees from Oxford and Cambridge.  He has been President and Chair of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, and also has been President of the Physiological Society and the Biosciences Federation.  His research, which has been concerned with many aspects of vision and the early development of the brain, has received MRC support since 1969.  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society.  He won the Michael Faraday Award in 1989 for his work to further public engagement with science.  Professor Blakemore is strongly committed to the public communication of science.

Sir Geoffrey Chipperfield

Malcolm Dean


Judy Digney

Now retired, Judy Digney has been a fundraising consultant to charities and arts organisations following a career in arts management. She led the Development Departments at the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, the Whitechapel and Barbican Art Gallery. Her consultancies have included fundraising and strategic advice for the Tate, Sadler’s Wells and The Royal Academy of Arts as well as many charities and educational organisations. She is a Trustee of The Finzi Trust and of Music as Therapy International.


Judy Hargadon

Judy was a Harkness Fellow in 1992/93 at Harvard. After a long career in health care management, with posts including CEO of a Trust and a Health Authority, Judy was the Chief Executive of the School Food Trust, set up to transform school food after Jamie Oliver’s TV expose in 2005. The Trust established food and nutritional standards for schools (and later for early years settings), an evidence base for the changes, nationally consistent measurement systems to compare progress, an extensive support programme for schools and a national network of cookery clubs for children and families, Let’s Get Cooking, funded by the Lottery. Judy led the change from the Trust’s then NDPB status to an independent charity, the Children’s Food Trust. She is a member of Council for the University of Exeter and volunteers with charities that support struggling families.


Peter Jenkins

Peter Jenkins joined the Diplomatic Service (DS) on his return from a two-year Fellowship at the Harvard Graduate School for Arts and Sciences, where he studied history and literature.  During a 33-year diplomatic career he served in Vienna (twice), Washington, Paris, Brasilia and Geneva.  He specialised in global nuclear and trade policy issues.  Since leaving the DS he has formed a corporate problem-solving and diplomatic training partnership with former colleagues, and he writes and talks on his areas of specialisation.  He lives in Bath with his Hong Kong wife, Angelina.


Alexandra Jones

Edwina Moreton

Edwina Moreton is a Trustee of VERTIC (Verification, Reasearch, Training and Information Centre), and a member of the European Advisory Group of the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University. Before leaving the paper in 2010, she worked as a journalist for 30 years at The Economist. As Diplomatic Editor and Deputy Foreign Editor she wrote about a wide-range of security and foreign-policy issues, spanning Europe, North America and Asia, as well as arms control, proliferation, the United Nations, international justice and human rights. In her early career at the paper, she covered the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe and China.

She holds a B.A. in German and Russian from the University of Bradford, an M.Sc. in Political Science from the University of Strathclyde, and a Ph.D. in Soviet and East European Studies from the University of Glasgow. She was a Harkness Fellow and post-doctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Centre for International Studies, and taught Soviet Politics and Comparative Communist Government at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, before joining The Economist in 1980. In 2005 she was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of the University by the University of Birmingham.


Roy Williams

Roy Williams held a Harkness Fellowship in 1963 – 1964 at the Universities of Chicago and Berkley. His career has seen him serve as a civil servant, mainly in the Department for Trade and Industry. He has worked as Principal Private Secretary to successive Secretaries of State and has been responsible at different times for trade and industrial policy. Since retiring as Deputy Secretary Director General, Roy has chaired a major charity and been involved in several quangos and various EU initiatives.

Lizzie Clark

Lizzie Clark is the Administrator and main point of contact for any matter relating to the Harkness Fellows Association for any matters including membership and events. She can be contacted at harkness@acu.ac.uk

Lizzie also works as Programme Administrator to the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission, administrating Scholarships to postgraduate students from the United States to the UK.






Woburn House 20-24 Tavistock Square, London, WC1H 9HF, TEL: +44 (0)20 7380 6704, FAX: +44 (0)20 7387 2655 E-MAIL: harkness@acu.ac.uk

Harkness Fellows Association and Transatlantic Trust, a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales, no 4168003, registered charity no 1088426

Last updated November 2009